Keyword Results for   'election commission'  
EC was acting at behest of Jayalalithaa: Karunanidhi  May 20, 8:20 pm
Chennai, May 20 (ANI): Attacking the Election Commission (EC) for postponing polling in Aravakurichi and Thanjavur constituencies in Tamil Nadu, Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) chief M. Karunanidhi on Friday said the commission has become a slave to the ruling party, All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK), and was acting at the behest of Chief Minister J. Jayalalithaa.
BJP's H. Raja puts onus on EC as counting begins in TN   May 19, 9:00 am
Chennai, May 19 (ANI): Fearing defeat in the Tamil Nadu assembly polls, BJP's national secretary H. Raja on Thursday said that reckless and irresponsible work of the Election Commission was one of the main reasons for low polling percentage this time.
Counting begins, early trends show LDF leading in Kerala   May 19, 8:35 am
New Delhi, May.19 (ANI): The counting of votes for the Assembly elections in West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Assam, Kerala and Puducherry began today amid stringent arrangements, with postal ballots being opened first for counting.
Stage set for Assembly polls results  May 19, 8:18 am
New Delhi, May.19 (ANI): The counting of votes for the Assembly elections in West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Assam, Kerala and Puducherry would be held today amid stringent arrangements made by the Election Commission.
Ahead of counting, EC thanks parties and voters for peaceful elections  May 19, 7:22 am
New Delhi, May.19 (ANI): Ahead of counting of votes to decide political fate of five states, Chief Election Commissioner Nasim Zaidi on Thursday thanked political parties and voters for peaceful elections, while asserting that the Election Commission is fully geared up to announce the result of the electoral battle.
TN polls: EC sets up four-member team for Aravakurichi, Thanjavur  May 18, 6:44 pm
Chennai, May 18 (ANI): The Election Commission has set up a four-member team to look into alleged malpractices in Tamil Nadu's Aravakurichi and Thanjavur constituencies, where polling has been deferred to next week.
TN, Kerala and Puducherry record high voter turnout in assembly elections (Update)  May 16, 11:05 pm
New Delhi, May.16 (ANI): Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Union Territory Puducherry recorded a good voter turnout in the assembly elections, said the Election Commission (EC) on Monday.
Nearly 70 % polling recorded in Kerala, TN: EC  May 16, 8:39 pm
New Delhi, May. 16 (ANI): With the elections across five states finally coming to an end, the Election Commission on Monday said close to 70 percent polling was recorded from all the three states that went to polls today.
Telangana bypoll: Voting begins for Palair seat  May 16, 9:09 am
Hyderabad, May 16 (ANI): Amidst tight security arrangements, polling began at over 243 polling stations in Palair Assembly constituency in Khammam district of Telangana as part of the by-election.
Assembly polls for Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Puducherry begin  May 16, 7:35 am
Chennai, May 16 (ANI): With the Election Commission having made elaborate arrangements for free and fair voting, assembly polls in Tamil Nadu, Puducherry and Kerala began on Monday amid tight security.
Polling in Tamil Nadu's Thanjavur constituency deferred from May 16 to 23  May 15, 11:22 pm
New Delhi, May 15 (ANI): Following its observer's report regarding seizure of cash and evidence of large scale distribution of money to the voters, the Election Commission (EC) on Sunday directed to defer the polling of Thanjavur assembly constituency in Tamil Nadu from May 16 to May 23.
Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Puducherry go to poll tomorrow  May 15, 11:09 pm
New Delhi, May 15 (ANI): The Election Commission has made elaborate arrangements for free and fair voting for assembly polls in Tamil Nadu, Puducherry and Kerala held between 7 a.m. and 6 p.m. on Monday.
Assam polls: Security stepped up for peaceful counting of votes  May 15, 1:09 pm
Guwahati, May 15 (ANI): Necessary security arrangements are being made for peaceful counting of votes for assembly polls in Assam.
Tamil Nadu gears up for Assembly polls tomorrow  May 15, 12:49 pm
Chennai, May 14 (ANI): Hectic preparatory activities are going on in 66,007 polling booths for tomorrow's assembly elections in Tamil Nadu, where out of the 234 seats for the state Assembly, polling in Aravakurichi constituency has been deferred.
Arunachal: EC defers bye-election to Kanubari Assembly Constituency  May 15, 10:16 am
Itanagar, May 15 (ANI): The Election Commission has deferred the bye-election to Kanubari Assembly Constituency in Arunachal Pradesh which was scheduled to be held tomorrow.
Election Commission in action to ensure smooth polls in Puducherry  May 15, 9:01 am
Puducherry, May 15 (ANI): With the campaigning phase over in Puducherry, the Election Commission is making all arrangements for the smooth conduct of polls in the Union Territory.
TN Assembly polls: EC serves notice to AIADMK, DMK for violation in manifestos  May 14, 11:16 pm
New Delhi, May 14 (ANI): The Election Commission on Saturday issued notice to All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) and Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) for poll code violation in their manifestos.
Polling in Tamil Nadu's Aravakurichi constituency postponed from May 16 to 23  May 14, 11:16 pm
New Delhi, May 14 (ANI): The Election Commission has postponed the polling in the Aravakurichi Assembly Constituency in Tamil Nadu on from May16 to 23 in the wake of the distribution of money and gift items to the electors of the constituency.
Trucks with Rs. 570 crore cash stopped in Tamil Nadu  May 14, 1:48 pm
Chennai, May 14 (ANI): The Election Commission on Saturday morning stopped three trucks purportedly transferring Rs. 570 crores in poll-bound Tamil Nadu's Tiruppur district.
EC taking several measures for aged voters  May 13, 10:40 pm
New Delhi, May.13 (ANI): After the National Human Rights Commission (NHRC) raised its concern over the difficulties faced by the aged voters in participating in elections, Chief Election Commissioner Nasim Zaidi today said special interventions are being carried out to facilitate them to exercise their franchise.
Cong to knock EC's door over PM Modi's Kerala-Somalia comparison  May 13, 12:32 pm
New Delhi, May 13 (ANI): The Congress will on Friday lead a delegation to the Election Commission to lodge a formal complaint against Prime Minister Narendra Modi for his comment comparing Kerala with Somalia.
EC seizes over 100 crores in poll bound Tamil Nadu  May 12, 2:51 pm
Chennai, May 12 (ANI): The Election Commission has confirmed seizing over 100 crores of rupees in poll bound Tamil Nadu, where elections are scheduled to take place on May 16.
Defending 21 MLAs, Kejriwal flays PM Modi citing U'khand verdict  May 11, 4:46 pm
New Delhi, May 11 (ANI): Hours after the Centre informed the Supreme Court that it would revoke President's Rule in Uttarakhand, Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal on Wednesday said he hopes Prime Minister Narendra Modi learns a lesson from the developments in the hill state and not do similar misadventure in Delhi.
10 million people to pledge for ethical voting today in Tamil Nadu  May 10, 8:16 am
Chennai, May. 10 (ANI): The Election Commission has organised mass pledge taking events for over 10 million voters today to promote ethical voting in Tamil Nadu.
TN polls: Election department gearing up to promote 'ethical' voting  May 8, 9:50 am
Chennai, May. 8 (ANI): The election department in Tamil Nadu is gearing up for a first of its kind pledge-taking-movement to promote ethical voting.