GST Council divides states into 4 lots for rollout of intra-state e-way bill

ANI | Updated: Mar 10, 2018 15:02 IST

New Delhi [India], Mar. 10 (ANI): The Goods and Services (GST) Council, in its 26th meeting on Saturday, decided to divide the states into four lots for the rollout of intra-state e-way bill in April.

"The e-way bill system for inter-state transportation of goods will be implemented from April 1, 2018. After that, the state will be categorised into four lots for the implementation of intra-state e-way bill. It will be put into process in a phased manner, after one week each. So we will try to finish the lots in April," Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley said post the meeting.

The Council also extended the existing system of filing returns for another three months.

It deferred the Reverse Charge Mechanism until July 1, and provided tax exemption to exporters for another six months. (ANI)