IIFA 2017: 'Ae Dil Hai Mushkil' film wins big in music category

| Updated: Aug 23, 2017 11:20 IST

New York [USA], Jul 16 (ANI): The International Indian Film Academy (IIFA) race is officially underway with 'Ae Dil Hai Mushkil' triumphing in the music catergory this year. Pritam Chakraborty has won the Best Music Direction award for the Karan Johar directorial, while Amitabh Bhattacharya won the Best Lyricist award for the movie's song 'Channa Mere Ya.' In the Music direction category, Pritam was up against Amaal Malik and Rochak Kohli for 'M.S. Dhoni: The Untold Story' and Amit Trivedi for 'Udta Punjab.' In the Best Lyrics category, the contenders were Amitabh Bhattacharya for 'Channa mereya' from 'Ae Dil Hai Mushkil,' Gulzar for 'Aave re Hitchki' from 'Mirzya' and Tanveer Ghazi for 'Tu chal' from Pink. Singers Tulsi Kumar and Kanika Kapoor bagged the IIFA awards for the best female playback singer. Kanika, who has lent her voice to hit songs like 'Chittiyaan Kalaiyaan' from the film 'Roy' and 'Beat Pe Booty' from 'The Flying Jatt,' won for the film 'Udta Punjab,' while Tulsi, who has completed 10 years in the music industry and has given hits like 'Soch Na Sake' and 'Sanam Re,' won it for 'Airlift.' <blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Flower power! <a href="https://twitter.com/TulsikumarTK">@TulsikumarTK</a> looks stunning at the green carpet. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/IIFA2017?src=hash">#IIFA2017</a> <a href="https://t.co/06o3kFwt68">pic.twitter.com/06o3kFwt68</a></p>&mdash; IIFA Awards (@IIFA) <a href="https://twitter.com/IIFA/status/886382250996191234">July 16, 2017</a></blockquote> <script async src="//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script> The duo was competing against Neha Bhasin, who got the nod for her 'Jag Ghoomeya' performance in 'Sultan,' for the title. Meanwhile, Amit Mishra walked away with the Best Playback Singer (Male) award for the song 'Bulleya' of the movie 'Ae Dil Hai Mushkil.' Other nominees in the field included 'Armaan Malik' for 'Besabriyaan' of 'M.S. Dhoni: The Untold Story,' Arijit Singh for 'Channa Mereya' of 'Ae Dil Hai Mushkil' and Diljit Dosanjh for 'Ikk Kudi' of 'Udta Punjab.' The 18th edition of the awards ceremony that celebrates the achievements of Bollywood in different cities across the world is a three-day extravaganza that started from July 13 and is being held at the iconic MetLife Stadium in New York. Besides Bollywood celebrities, several Hollywood stars, including Angelina Jolie, action star Jackie Chan, Australian pop-star Kylie Minogue, British actor Colin Firth, Hollywood stars Hillary Swank, Kevin Spacey and John Travolta, have also been a part of IIFA in the past. (ANI)