Representative Image
Representative Image

Tony Awards 2018: Complete list of nominations

ANI | Updated: May 02, 2018 13:28 IST

Washington D.C. [U.S.A.], May 02 (ANI): Tony Awards, or the Antoinette Perry Award for Excellence in Broadway Theatre, is one of the most prestigious award ceremonies held to recognise and reward par excellence performances in the live theater.

The nominations for the 72nd Annual ceremony were announced during the late night hours of Tuesday.

The ceremony will be held in New York on June 10. Sara Bareilles and Josh Groban have been roped in to host the event, according to The Hollywood Reporter.

Here is a complete list of nominations:

- Best Musical

'The Band's Visit'


'Mean Girls'

'SpongeBob SquarePants: The Broadway Musical'

- Best Play

'The Children'

'Farinelli and the King'

'Harry Potter and the Cursed Child'


'Latin History for Morons'

- Best Revival of a Musical


'My Fair Lady'

'Once on This Island'

- Best Revival of a Play

'Angels in America'

'Lobby Hero'

'Three Tall Women'

'The Iceman Cometh'


- Best Book of a Musical

'The Band's Visit,' Itamar Moses

'Frozen,' Jennifer Lee

'Mean Girls,' Tina Fey

'SpongeBob SquarePants,' Kyle Jarrow

- Best Original Score

'Angels in America,' Adrian Sutton

'The Band's Visit,' Music and Lyrics: David Yazbek

'Frozen,' Music and Lyrics: Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez

'Mean Girls,' Music: Jeff Richmond; Lyrics: Nell Benjamin

'SpongeBob SquarePants,' Various contributors

- Best Leading Actor in a Play

Andrew Garfield, 'Angels in America'

Tom Hollander, 'Travesties'

Jamie Parker, 'Harry Potter and the Cursed Child'

Mark Rylance, 'Farinelli and the King'

Denzel Washington, 'The Iceman Cometh'

- Best Leading Actress in a Play

Glenda Jackson, 'Three Tall Women'

Condola Rashad, 'Saint Joan'

Lauren Ridloff, 'Children of a Lesser God'

Amy Schumer, 'Meteor Shower'

- Best Leading Actor in a Musical

Harry Hadden-Paton, 'My Fair Lady'

Joshua Henry, 'Carousel'

Ethan Slater, 'SpongeBob SquarePants'

Tony Shalhoub, 'The Band's Visit'

- Best Leading Actress in a Musical

Lauren Ambrose, 'My Fair Lady'

Hailey Kilgore, 'Once on This Island'

LaChanze, 'Summer: The Donna Summer Musical'

Katrina Lenk, 'The Band's Visit'

Taylor Louderman, 'Mean Girls'

Jessie Mueller, 'Carousel'

- Best Featured Actor in a Play

Anthony Boyle, 'Harry Potter and the Cursed Child'

Michael Cera, 'Lobby Hero'

Brian Tyree Henry, 'Lobby Hero'

Nathan Lane, 'Angels in America'

David Morse, 'The Iceman Cometh'

- Best Featured Actress in a Play

Susan Brown, 'Angels in America'

Noma Dumezweni, 'Harry Potter and the Cursed Child'

Deborah Findlay, 'The Children'

Denise Gough, 'Angels in America'

Laurie Metcalf, 'Three Tall Women'

- Best Featured Actor in a Musical

Norbert Leo Butz, 'My Fair Lady'

Alexander Gemignani, 'Carousel'

Grey Henson, 'Mean Girls'

Gavin Lee, 'SpongeBob SquarePants'

Ari'el Stachel, 'The Band's Visit'

- Best Featured Actress in a Musical

Ariana DeBose, 'Summer: The Donna Summer Musical'

Renee Fleming, 'Carousel'

Lindsay Mendez, 'Carousel'

Ashley Park, 'Mean Girls'

Diana Rigg, 'My Fair Lady'

- Best Scenic Design of a Play

Miriam Buether, 'Three Tall Women'

Jonathan Fensom, 'Farinelli and the King'

Santo Loquasto, 'The Iceman Cometh'

Christine Jones, 'Harry Potter and the Cursed Child'

Ian MacNeil and Edward Pierce, 'Angels in America'

- Best Scenic Design of a Musical

Dane Laffrey, 'Once on this Island'

Scott Pask, 'The Band's Visit'

Scott Pask, Finn Ross and Adam Young, 'Mean Girls'

Michael Yeargan, 'My Fair Lady'

David Zinn, 'SpongeBob SquarePants'

- Best Costume Design of a Play

Jonathan Fensom, 'Farinelli and the King'

Nicky Gillibrand, 'Angels in America'

Katrina Lindsay, 'Harry Potter and the Cursed Child'

Ann Roth, 'Three Tall Women'

Ann Roth, 'The Iceman Cometh'

- Best Costume Design of a Musical

Gregg Barnes, 'Mean Girls'

Clint Ramos, 'Once on This Island'

Ann Roth, 'Carousel'

David Zinn, 'SpongeBob SquarePants'

Catherine Zuber, 'My Fair Lady'

- Best Lighting Design of a Play

Neil Austin, 'Harry Potter and the Cursed Child'

Paule Constable, 'Angels in America'

Jules Fisher and Peggy Eisenhauer, 'The Iceman Cometh'

Paul Russell, 'Farinelli and the King'

Ben Stanton, 'Junk'

- Best Lighting Design of a Musical

Kevin Adams, 'SpongeBob SquarePants'

Jules Fisher and Peggy Eisenhauer, 'Once on This Island'

Donald Holder, 'My Fair Lady'

Brian MacDevitt, 'Carousel'

Tyler Micoleau, 'The Band's Visit'

- Best Direction of a Play

Marianne Elliott, 'Angels in America'

Joe Mantello, 'Three Tall Women'

Patrick Marber, 'Travesties'

John Tiffany, 'Harry Potter and the Cursed Child'

George C. Wolfe, 'The Iceman Cometh'

- Best Direction of a Musical

Michael Arden, 'Once on This Island'

David Cromer, 'The Band's Visit'

Tina Landau, 'SpongeBob SquarePants'

Casey Nicholaw, 'Mean Girls'

Bartlett Sher, 'My Fair Lady'

- Best Choreography

Christopher Gattelli, 'My Fair Lady'

Christopher Gattelli, 'SpongeBob SquarePants'

Steven Hoggett, 'Harry Potter and the Cursed Child'

Casey Nicholaw, 'Mean Girls'

Justin Peck, 'Carousel'

- Best Orchestrations

John Clancy, 'Mean Girls'

Tom Kitt, 'SpongeBob SquarePants'

AnnMarie Milazzo and Michael Starobin, 'Once on This Island'

Jamshied Sharifi, 'The Band's Visit'

Jonathan Tunick, 'Carousel'

- Sound Design in a Play

Adam Cork, 'Travesties'

Ian Dickinson for Autograph, 'Angels in America'

Gareth Fry, 'Harry Potter and the Cursed Child'

Tom Gibbons, '1984'

Dan Moses Schreier, 'The Iceman Cometh'

- Sound Design in a Musical

Kai Harada, 'The Band's Visit'

Peter Hylenski, 'Once on This Island'

Scott Lehrer, 'Carousel'

Brian Ronan, 'Mean Girls'

Walter Trarbach and Mike Dobson, 'SpongeBob SquarePants'

- Special Tony Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Theater

Chita Rivera

Andrew Lloyd Webber

Special Tony Award

John Leguizamo

Bruce Springsteen

- Regional Theater Tony Award

La MaMa E.T.C.

Isabelle Stevenson Tony Award

Nick Scandalios

- Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theater

Sara Krulwich

Bessie Nelson

Ernest Winzer Cleaners (ANI)