CBFC needs to see from a woman's perspectives as well : Prakash Jha

| Updated: Aug 23, 2017 11:20 IST

Patna [India], Feb. 25 (ANI): Celebrated film maker Prakash Jha, whose production "Lipstick Under My Burkha" has been denied a certificate by the Central Board of Film Certification (CBFC), said Saturday that the latter should not see films from a woman's perspective as well. "When it will happen that CBFC will only certify the film and not censor it? What is their in 'Lipstick Under Burkha'? It just depicts the fantasies of women who have not been allowed to live freely," Jha told ANI. "Through the movie, we get to know about their dreams, their aspirations. They have a small life and in that, they have small dreams. But our society and the CBFC are not able to see and understand that we are just depicting their dreams and aspirations," he added. The film, directed by Alankrita Shrivastava, was denied certification by the CBFC for allegedly being "lady oriented" and containing "abusive words". Jha expressed delight over the unanimous support for the film shown by the film industry and said, "I am happy that everyone is sympathizing with me. Everyone is against the observation which has been made by the CBFC about the movie. Everyone is concerned as to when we will get full freedom of expression in our country." "The problem stays irrespective of who the CBFC members are. It's not because of Pahalaj Nihalani. This can be solved only when we get past censoring and talk about certification," Jha said. The National-award winning filmmaker said that certificate to films should be given based on the age group and the "power to censor the content should not be there." "If certain things don't fit into the parameters of the censor board, they get them into wrong context. These are human errors. I think my film has a very beautiful story about the women living in that section of a society which people have felt but never told or heard of," he added. "Lipstick Under My Burkha" stars Konkona Sensharma, Ratna Pathak Shah, Aahana Kumra, Plabita Borthakur, Sushant Singh, Vikrant Massey and Shashank Arora.(ANI)