By-polls: AIADMK leading in TN, BJP ahead of Cong in Lakhimpur

| Updated: Aug 23, 2017 11:20 IST

New Delhi [India], Nov. 22 (ANI): The All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) is leading in Thiruparankundram and Aravakurichi assembly seats of Tamil Nadu. In Assam, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is leading with 24,312 votes in the Lakhimpur Lok Sabha seat, while the Congress is presently at the second position with 12,484 votes. In West Bengal, the Trinamool Congress (TMC) is leading by 34,842 votes in the Cooch Behar Lok Sabha seat. In Madhya Pradesh, the BJP is leading by 10,000 votes in the Nepanagar assembly seat, while the saffron party is leading by 10,800 votes in the Shahdol Lok Sabha seat. Out of six seats in the Maharashtra legislative council, the Congress and BJP won two each while the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) and Shiv Sena emerged victorious in one seat each. The Communist Party of India (Marxist) won both Barjala and Khowai assembly seats in Tripura. The Lok Sabha seats are Lakhimpur in Assam, Shahdol in Madhya Pradesh and Coochbehar and Tamluk Parliamentary seats in West Bengal. The assembly seats are in Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Tripura and the Union Territory of Puducherry. In Assam, the counting of votes for Lakhimpur Lok Sabha and Baithalangso assembly by polls is being held today amid tight security. Over 66 percent polling was reported at Lakhimpur Lok Sabha seat while over 74 percent voters exercised their voting rights at Baithalangso assembly seat. Five candidates are in the fray for the Lakhimpur seat while the political fate of three candidates will be decided at Baithalangso assembly seat. Both seats are likely to witness a straight contest between the BJP-led NDA and Congress. The outcome of the by-polls will be the first test for the Sarbanand Sonowal-led BJP government as well as newly-appointed state Congress president Ripun Bora. In Tamil Nadu, the results will be announced today for Thanjavur, Aravakurichi and Tiruparakundram assembly seats. The by-elections for these three seats were held on November 19. In Puducherry, Congress leader and Chief Minister V. Narayanasamy has bagged the Nellithoppe assembly seat. In Tripura, the counting of votes for by-poll in Barjala and Khowai assembly constituencies began at 8 a.m. today amidst tight security. In Barjala, the counting is being held at Umakant Academy complex whereas the counting is being held in Khowai at the SDM Office campus hall. Counting will be done in four rounds. (ANI)