Jayarajan's resignation sign of LDF's values, constitutional morality: Raja

| Updated: Oct 15, 2016 14:22 IST

New Delhi [India], Oct. 15 (ANI): The Communist Party of India (CPI) on Saturday praised Kerala Industries Minister E.P. Jayarajan decision to resign over nepotism charges, describing it as a positive development for the Left Democratic Front (LDF). It said that the LDF always upholds values, constitutional morality and probity in public life. CPI national secretary D. Raja told ANI, "Yes, the party took a decision that he should resign and he has resigned. It is a positive development because Left Democratic Front (LDF) is not behaving like United Democratic Front (UDF) or NDA." "LDF is different. LDF always upholds the values, constitutional morality and probity in public life. Considering the position of the Left on probity in public life, morality in public life; it is what was expected and he resigned," he added. Jayarajan resigned on Friday following allegations that he appointed his own family members as heads of public sector undertakings in the state. CPM state secretary Kodiyeri Balakrishnan confirmed the news. He added that Jayarajan admitted before the CPM state committee that he committed a mistake by appointing close relatives. Earlier in the day, CPM state secretariat had met to discuss the nepotism charges against Jayarajan. There was an opinion among the members that Jayarajan should not continue in office in light of the controversy. He has spent just over four months in office. The minister has come under fire for appointments in PSUs as well as key posts in the Kerala High Court. The heads of two PSUs are members of Jayarajan's own family, while at least two others are closely related to top leaders of the CPM. On Thursday Kerala's Vigilance and Anti Corruption Bureau had ordered a pilot probe into these charges. Jayarajan, 66, of Kannur, is one of the most prominent faces of the Kerala CPM, known to be close to Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan and recognised as second only to him in the cabinet. He is a third-time legislator from Mattanur. (ANI)