Maharani Hospital of Jagdalpur taking steps to increase voter turnout (Photo/ANI)
Maharani Hospital of Jagdalpur taking steps to increase voter turnout (Photo/ANI)

Here's how this Jagdalpur hospital is helping enhance voter awareness

ANI | Updated: Mar 27, 2019 11:34 IST

Bastar (Chhattisgarh) [India], Mar 27 (ANI): Ahead of the ensuing Lok Sabha elections, a unique voter campaign has come to light at a hospital here, where forms at the outpatient department (OPD) are being stamped with a slogan appealing to voters to exercise their right in the impending polls.  
As part of this campaign, the OPD in government hospitals are providing prescriptions and other forms to patients with a stamp that reads 'vote daalne jana hai, apna farz nibhana hai' (you must cast your vote and fulfill your duty)

"The officials are making the voters aware of their voting rights and the date of polling is also mentioned on the slip. This hospital has been chosen by the authorities as it witnesses around 400 to 600 patients every day," said a local Jitendra Bangar who came for treatment in the hospital.
"Every patient coming to the Maharani Hospital of Jagdalpur and health centres from the district headquarters is being encouraged to vote. After reading the message written on slips, people are saying that they will definitely vote," said another local resident Champa.
Civil Surgeon Dr Vivek Joshi said that the Systematic Voters Education and Electoral Participation (SVEEP) program is being run at all government hospitals, including primary health centres and community health centres of the district.
The initiative came after Naxals announced that they will boycott general elections. In order to conduct peaceful elections in this Naxal affected region, the voters are being assured that they can use their franchise without any fear.
The security forces deployed in the region are on alert to ensure peaceful polling as Naxals are threatening people through posters and pamphlets against voting.
Bastar will go to polls in the first of three phases on April 11 and the counting of votes will take place on May 23. (ANI)