Parliament of India
Parliament of India

Ahead of monsoon session, TDP moves no-confidence motion against Centre

ANI | Updated: Jul 17, 2018 19:27 IST

New Delhi [India], Jul 17 (ANI): A day ahead of the commencement of the monsoon session of Parliament, Telugu Desam Party (TDP) MP Kesineni Srinivas on Tuesday wrote to Lok Sabha Secretary-General to include a no-confidence motion in the council of ministers over the Andhra Pradesh special status row, in the list of business for tomorrow.
On July 15, TDP President and Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu wrote letters to non-BJP, non-Congress parties' presidents and Parliamentary party leaders seeking support on a no-confidence motion against the Centre in the upcoming monsoon session of Parliament over the demand for special category status to Andhra Pradesh.
Meanwhile, a team comprising C.M. Ramesh, T.G. Venkatesh and M. Murali Mohan also met DMK Rajya Sabha MP Kanimozhi in Chennai on Monday and sought support on a no-confidence motion against the Centre.
The TDP had earlier made six-subgroups of the party leaders, who would meet and handover Chandrababu Naidu's letter and a booklet explaining the injustice done to the state and seek support.
During the last Budget Session, the Parliament secretariat received three notices on a no-confidence motion against the centre for its refusal to grant special category status to Andhra Pradesh.
On a related note, the List of Business or the agendas to be taken up in the upcoming monsoon session are as follows:
I Bills for Introduction, Consideration and Passing
1. The Homoeopathy Central Council (Amendment) Bill, 2018;
2. The Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code Amendment Bill, 2018;
3. The Criminal Law (Amendment) Bill, 2018
4. The Commercial Courts, Commercial Division and Commercial Appellate Division of High Courts (Amendment) Bill, 2018
5. The Airports Economic Regulatory Authority of India (Amendment) Bill, 2018
6. The Banning of Unregulated Deposit Schemes Bill, 2018
7. Central Goods and Services Tax (Amendment) Bill, 2018
8. Integrated Goods and Services Tax (Amendment) Bill, 2018
9. Union Territory Goods and Service Tax (Amendment) Bill, 2018
10. Goods and Services Tax (Compensation to States Amendment) Bill, 2018
11. The Protection of Human Rights (Amendment) Bill, 2018
12. The Arbitration and Conciliation (Amendment) Bill, 2018
13. The Micro Small and Medium Enterprises Development (Amendment)Bill, 2018
14. The Right to Information (Amendment) Bill, 2018
15. The DNA Technology (Use and Application) Regulation Bill, 2018
16. The National Trust for Welfare of Persons with Autism, Cerebral palsy, Mental Retardation and Multiple Disabilities (Amendment) Bill, 2018.
17. The Dam Safety Bill, 2018
18. Trafficking of Persons (Prevention, Protection and Rehabilitation) Bill, 2018
II Bills for Consideration and Passing
Bills pending in Lok Sabha
1. The Constitution (One Hundred and Twenty-Third Amendment) Bill, 2017
2. The Public Premises (Eviction of Unauthorised Occupants) Amendment Bill, 2017
3. The Dentists (Amendment) Bill, 2017
4. The Representation of People (Amendment) Bill, 2017
5. The National Council for Teacher Education (Amendment) Bill, 2017
6. The Negotiable Instruments (Amendment) Bill, 2017
7. The Consumer Protection Bill, 2018
8. The New Delhi International Arbitration Centre Bill, 2018
9. The Fugitive Economic Offenders Bill, 2018
10. The Transgender Persons (Protection of Rights) Bill, 2016
11. The Surrogacy (Regulation) Bill, 2016
12. The Major Port Authorities Bill, 2016
13. The National Sports University Bill, 2017
14. The Rights of Children to Free and Compulsory Education (Second Amendment) Bill, 2017
15. The National Medical Commission Bill, 2017.
Bills pending in Rajya Sabha
1. The Whistle Blowers Protection (Amendment) Bill, 2015
2. The Factories (Amendment) Bill, 2016
3. The National Commission for Backward Classes (Repeal) Bill, 2017
4. The State Bank (Repeal and Amendment) Bill, 2017.
5. The Ancient Monuments and Archaeological Sites and Remains (Amendment) Bill, 2017
6. The Requisitioning and Acquisition of Immovable Property (Amendment) Bill, 2017
7. The Muslim Women (Protection of Rights on Marriage) Bill, 2017
8. The Specific Relief (Amendment) Bill, 2018
9. The Motor Vehicles (Amendment) Bill, 2017
10. The Prevention of Corruption (Amendment) Bill, 2013
III Financial Business
1. Supplementary Demands for Grants (including Railways) for 2018-19
2. Demands for Excess Grants for 2015-16
IV Bills for Withdrawal
Lok Sabha
1. The Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises Development (Amendment) Bill, 2015
Rajya Sabha
1. The Armed Forces Tribunal (Amendment) Bill, 2012
2. The Nalanda University (Amendment) Bill, 2013
The Monsoon session of Parliament will begin on July 18 and will continue till August 10. (ANI)