हिंदी खबर
Voting underway in Darbhanga's Kusheshwar Asthan. (Photo/ ANI)
Voting underway in Darbhanga's Kusheshwar Asthan. (Photo/ ANI)

Bihar by-polls: Voting underway in Kusheshwar Asthan, Tarapur Assembly constituencies

ANI | Updated: Oct 30, 2021 09:08 IST

Darbhanga (Bihar) [India], October 30 (ANI): The voting for the by-polls in the Kusheshwar Asthan and Tarapur Assembly seats in Bihar's Darbhanga and Munger districts respectively is underway on Saturday.
The by-polls in the two assembly seats have become a battle of prestige for the ruling Janata Dal (United) and the main opposition party, the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD).
RJD chief Lalu Prasad Yadav himself campaigned at the Assembly constituencies after he returned to Bihar.
Earlier on Friday, RJD leader Tejashwi Yadav had accused that the Nitish Kumar-led NDA government in the state of pressurising officials to make people vote in the favour of a specific party.
Tejashwi also alleged that there is a lack of development in the state and said that had there been development, the government would have never needed to distribute gifts to people.
In 2020, the ruling coalition, NDA secured a majority with 125-seats in the 243-seat strong Bihar Legislative Assembly of which BJP won 74 seats, Janata Dal (United) on 43 while eight seats were won by two other NDA constituents.
The RJD, on the other hand, emerged as the single-largest party with 75 seats while Congress won only 19 of the 70 seats it had contested.
Meanwhile, by-elections are being held in three parliamentary constituencies and 30 assembly constituencies in different states today.
The counting of votes and announcement of results will be on November 2. (ANI)