BJP gears up for Himachal polls, releases list of star campaigners

ANI | Updated: Oct 22, 2017 15:29 IST

Shimla (Himachal Pradesh) [India], October 22 (ANI): The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Sunday released the list of the leaders, who would be campaigning for the upcoming assembly elections in Himachal Pradesh scheduled to be held on November 9.

The list includes the name of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and party chief Amit Shah.

The prime minister's top cabinet ministers including Rajnath Singh, Sushma Swaraj, Uma Bharti, Arun Jaitley, Nitin Gadkari and Smriti Irani will also be a part of the election campaigning.

Apart from this, the chief ministers of the BJP-ruled states will also take part in the run to sweep the polls in the hill state.

The list includes the names of Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan, Uttarakhand Chief Minister Trivendra Singh Rawat and Haryana Chief Minister Manoharlal Khattar.

The result of the elections in 68 constituencies of the state will be announced on December 18.

Incumbent Himachal Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh's term ends on January 7, 2018. (ANI)