BJP secures victory on 9 RS seats in UP

ANI | Updated: Mar 23, 2018 23:40 IST

Lucknow (Uttar Pradesh)[India], Mar 23 (ANI): The Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) on Friday secured victory on nine Rajya Sabha seats in Uttar Pradesh.

The BJP candidates, who were in the fray for the nine seats include Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, GVL Narasimha Rao, Harnath Yadav, Ashok Bajpai, Vijay Pal Singh Tomar, Kanta Kardam, Sakaldeep Rajbhar and Anil Aggarwal.

Expressing his happiness over the victory, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath thanked and congratulated the people of the state.

He further took a dig at the Samajwadi Party and said 'its 'opportunistic face' has been exposed.'

Meanwhile, BJP state president Mahendra Nath Pandey also expressed his happiness over the win and said, "This is the victory of democracy and it is for the welfare of Uttar Pradesh."

Of 10, Samajwadi Party candidate Jaya Bachchan managed to bag one seat and elected to the Upper House from the state.

The voting for 25 Rajya Sabha seats was held across six states including Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, Karnataka, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh and Telangana.

A total number of 59 vacancies will be created in the Rajya Sabha in April which necessitated the elections. (ANI)