BJP wins 53 seats, leads in 46 Gujarat constituencies

ANI | Updated: Dec 18, 2017 16:50 IST

New Delhi [India] Dec. 18 (ANI): The Bharartiya Janata Party (BJP) is now poised to form the government in Gujarat, even as the early trends showed the Congress party giving a tough fight to it.

While the BJP is set to form government for fifth consecutive time in Gujarat, it will snatch power from the Congress in Himachal Pradesh.

At the time of filing this report, the BJP won 53 seats and was leading in 46 seats in Gujarat.

On the other hand, the Congress was giving the ruling party a tough fight with winning 47 seats and leading in another 30 seats out of total 182 seats.

Chief Minister Vijay Rupani is set to win prestigious Rajkot West seat as he was leading from his Congress rival Indranil Rajguru by over 53000 votes.

From Mahesana, Deputy Chief Minister Nitin Patel was leading from his Congress rival Patel Jivabhai by over 8000 votes.

Jignesh Mevani and Alpesh Thakor, two key hopes for the Congress in Gujarat, have both won their seats.

Independent Mevani defeated BJP candidate Vijaykumar Chakravarti by 19696 votes from Vadgam.

Alpesh Thakor, 40, was trailing initially but picked up soon to take a lead in Radhanpur and won the seat.

BJP's Babubhai Bokhiriya defeated his Congress rival Arjun Modhvadiya by 1855 votes from Porbandar.

Congress heavyweight Shaktisinh Gohil lost from Mandvi where BJP candidate Virendrasinh Jadeja defeated him by 9046 votes.

Congress candidate Paresh Dhanani won Amreli seat by defeating BJP's Bavkubhai Undhad by a margin of 12,029 votes. (ANI)