Visual from a counting centre in MP's Morena on Tuesday. (Photo/ANI)
Visual from a counting centre in MP's Morena on Tuesday. (Photo/ANI)

By-poll results 2020: Counting of votes begins for 58 assembly constituencies across 11 states

ANI | Updated: Nov 10, 2020 08:50 IST

Morena (Madhya Pradesh) [India], November 10 (ANI): Counting of votes for by-polls held in 58 assembly constituencies across 11 states in the country began at 8 am on Tuesday. This will be carried out along with the vote-counting process in Bihar where the first major electoral exercise was held amid the pandemic.
The result of 28 assembly constituencies in Madhya Pradesh will decide the fate of Shivraj Singh Chouhan led-BJP government which requires at least eight more MLAs for a clear majority in the state assembly.

Visuals from counting centres in Indore and Morena were out on Tuesday morning.
By-polls were held in Joura, Sumaoli, Morena, Dimani, Ambah, Mehgaon, Gohad, Gwalior, Gwalior East, Dabra, Bhander, Karera, Pohari, Bamori, Ashok Nagar, Mungaoli, Surkhi, Malhara, Anuppur, Sanchi, Biaora, Agar, Hatpipliya, Mandhata, Nepanagar, Badnawar, Sanwer and Suwasra of Madhya Pradesh.
Gujarat's Dang counting centre also started the counting of votes for eight assembly constituencies in the state.

The assembly seats of Abdasa, Limdi, Morbi, Dhari, Gadhada, Karjan, Dang and Kaprada in Gujarat are up for contest in the current by-polls in Gujarat.
Apart from this, by-polls on 7 seats in Uttar Pradesh, 2 seats each in Odisha, Nagaland, Karnataka and Jharkhand, and one seat each in Chhattisgarh, Telangana and Haryana were held. The results of the bye-election will be announced today. (ANI)