Congress' first candidates list out, Siddaramaiah to contest from Chamundeshwari

ANI | Updated: Apr 15, 2018 21:21 IST

Bengaluru (Karnataka), Apr. 15 (ANI): The Congress Party on Sunday released its first list of 218 candidates for the upcoming Karnataka Assembly elections.

The list was made public following a meeting of the Congress Central Election Committee.

The party's chief ministerial candidate Siddaramaiah will contest from Chamundeshwari constituency only in the upcoming election. Earlier speculation was rife that he would contest from Badami as well.

Siddaramaiah's son Dr Yatheendra will contest from Varuna constituency.

Karnataka Home Minister R Ramalinga Reddy will contest from BTM Layout, while his daughter Sowmya Reddy will contest from Jayanagar

Senior Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge son Priyank kharge will contest from Chittapur.

The party has fielded G.B. Malathesh against Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) chief ministerial candidate B S Yeddyurappa from Shikaripura.

The Congress is yet to release candidate list for five seats.

Karnataka will go to polls on May 12 to elect its representatives for the 225-member assembly. The results will be out on May 15. (ANI)