File picture of CPI(M) Kerala Secreatary Kodiyeri Balakrishnan
File picture of CPI(M) Kerala Secreatary Kodiyeri Balakrishnan

CPI(M) leader Kodiyeri Balakrishnan dares PM Modi to contest from Thiruvananthapuram

ANI | Updated: Mar 09, 2019 17:31 IST

Thiruvananthapuram (Kerala) [India]. Mar 9 (ANI): With just a few weeks left for the crucial Lok Sabha elections, Communist Party of India-Marxist's Kerala Secretary Kodiyeri Balakrishnan on Saturday challenged Prime Minister Narendra Modi to contest from Thiruvananthapuram.
"Even if Prime Minister Narendra Modi stands for election in Thiruvananthapuram, the BJP will not win," he said. 
He also dared former Mizoram Governor KummanamRajashekaran, who recently quit from his post, and BJP National President Amit Shah to contest from Thiruvananthapuram.
Meanwhile, CPI(M) announced its list of candidates for the state’s 20 seats. They include four sitting MLAs from CPI(M) and two from CPI.
MLA C Divakaran from CPI will contest from Thiruvananthapuram constituency, while A Pradeep Kumar from CPI(M) will contest from Kozhikode.
Two women candidates in the fray are P K Sreemathi, MP from Kannur and MLA Veena George from Pathanamthitta. Both are from CPI(M)