Gujarat: BJP's Suresh Patel wins in PM Modi's erstwhile Maninagar constituency

ANI | Updated: Dec 18, 2017 22:55 IST

Maninagar (Gujarat) [India], Dec 18 (ANI): Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate Suresh Patel won from Maninagar, the erstwhile constituency of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, with a whopping margin of 75,199 in the Gujarat Assembly election today.

Congress candidate Shweta Brahmabhatt trailed far behind as the runner up with 40,914 votes followed by Bahujan Samaj Party (1224).

Prime Minister Narendra Modi represented the Maninagar constituency in the Assembly when he was the state's chief minister from 2002 to 2014 until he went to Delhi and passed on the baton to Sureshbhai Patel.

Maninagar is also the state headquarters of the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) making it more important for BJP.

The BJP has remained undefeated here since 1990.

This assembly segment comprises Ward No. 36, Ward No. 36, Ward No. 43 of Ahmedabad Municipal Corporation.

There are total 2,51,391 registered voters in the constituency.

The opposition Congress which fought to wrest the power away from BJP by raising issues of development and education, fielded the 34-year-old Brahmabhatt, who returned to India from the UK after completing her Masters from a business school in Westminster. (ANI)