Jaganmohan Reddy writes to President on defection

ANI | Updated: Oct 27, 2017 17:50 IST

Hyderabad (Telangana) [India], October 27 (ANI): Yuvajana Shramika Rythu Congress Party (YSRCP) President Jaganmohan Reddy wrote a letter to President Ram Nath Kovind on Friday over the issue of migrated party leaders into Telugu Desam Party (TDP).

Reddy stated in his letter, "The Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh who despite enjoying full majority in the Assembly has been openly indulging in the unethical and unconstitutional practice of masterminding defections from the main and only opposition political party YSRCP in the fond hope of demoralising the opposition is a fact known to everybody in the state."

"As many as 21 MLAs elected on our party tickets in 2014 elections and a MLC were lured into defections to ruling TDP either by offer of ministerial berths or by paying huge cash," he added.

Reddy further alleged that no actions have been taken against defected MLAs by Speaker Kodela Shiva Prasada Rao.

"We have filed several petitions before the Honorable Speaker and the Honorable Chairman Legislative Council requesting them to disqualify the defecting MLAs as per the provisions of the Tenth Schedule to the Constitution of India. No action has been taken so far although more than one and half years have elapsed," he said.

He added that of these MLAs, four have been offered post in the Ministry.

"It is shocking that these defected MLAs, whose names are still shown in the list of YSRCP MLAs are not only allotted seats in the Assembly along with the ruling party MLAs but also given time to speak in the house without permission from the party to which they belong," he said.

Terming the defection process as undemocratic, Reddy said the MLAs of his party have stepped back to attend the Assembly session and also appealed the President to react on the situation.

"YSR Congress Legislature Party at their meeting held on October 26, 2017 at Hyderabad resolved unanimously not to attend the AP State Legislative Assembly and Legislative Council proceedings tail their demand for disqualification of 27 (now 20) MLAs and one MLC who have defected from YSRCP to the ruling TDP in the full glare of media is immediately octet upon," he said. (ANI)