Representational Image
Representational Image

Kamal Nath, Scindia, Digvijaya not to contest in MP assembly polls

ANI | Updated: Nov 09, 2018 13:43 IST

Bhopal (Madhya Pradesh) [India], Nov 08 (ANI): Senior Madhya Pradesh Congress leaders, including state unit president Kamal Nath, Jyotiraditya Scindia and Digvijay Singh will not be contesting in the forthcoming Assembly elections as the party announced its final list of candidates on Thursday.
Former Union Minister and former president of the Congress' Madhya Pradesh unit Arun Yadav will contest against Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chauhan from the Budhni constituency.
The party also replaced candidates from Manpur-ST, Indore-1 and Ratlam Rural ST constituency in the final list, with Gyanwati Singh, Sanjay Shukla and Thavar Lal Bhuria being the new entrants for the constituencies respectively.
The party has left the Jatara seat for the Loktantrik Janta Dal.
Having been out of power for 15 years in the state, the Congress has been sensing an anti-incumbency feeling brewing in the state.
Earlier today, the party had released its fifth list, confirming 14 candidates.
The state is slated to go to polls on November 28 for 230 constituencies. Counting of votes will take place on December 11. (ANI)