हिंदी खबर
Noorbina Rashid, IUML candidate from Kozhikode South constituency (Photo/ANI)
Noorbina Rashid, IUML candidate from Kozhikode South constituency (Photo/ANI)

Kerala polls: Indian Union Muslim League fields woman candidate after 25 years

ANI | Updated: Mar 13, 2021 02:21 IST

Kozhikode (Kerala) [India], March 13 (ANI): After 25 years, the Indian Union Muslim League ( IUML) the main alliance partner of the United Democratic Front (UDF) on Friday fielded a woman candidate in the Kerala Assembly polls as the party declared the list of 25 candidates out of 27 seats it will be contesting here.
Noorbina Rashid will contest from Kozhikode South constituency and it is for the first time since 1996, a woman candidate has been fielded by the Muslim League.

"I had a hope that the party will consider a woman candidate this time after 25 years. I am so happy now about the party's decision. Will serve the society and will remain as a watchdog for democracy," said Noorbina Rashid to media persons in Kozhikode after she was announced as a candidate.
This is the first time that the Muslim League has fielded a woman candidate since 1996 when the former chairperson of the Women's League Khamarunnisa Anwar contested from Kozhikode.

Noorbina said that people are expecting more women candidates to represent them in the assembly. "To address issues of women and those marginalised people we need women in the assembly. The expectation of people both men and women are that more women should come forward in society and I happy with the decision of IUML leadership," she added.
Out of the 144 assembly seats in Kerala, IUML will be contesting on 27 seats. The CPI(M) that announced the list earlier had included 12 women candidates in the fray. The Congress which will be announcing the candidate list soon is also expected to give more seats to women compared to the last assembly polls.
The election for 140-member Kerala Assembly in 14 districts will be held in a single phase on April 6. The counting of votes will be held on May 2.
The tenure of the 14th Kerala legislative assembly will come to an end on June 1, 2021. A total of 2,67,88,268 electors will elect the candidates in Kerala for the 15th legislative assembly.
In the 2016 Kerala assembly election, the CPI(M)-led Left Democratic Front ( LDF) bagged 91 seats in 140-member Assembly. The BJP opened its account for the first time from the Nemom constituency, where BJP veteran O.Rajagopal won the seat. (ANI)