Mahila Congress workers highlight 'rape' at Jan Aakrosh rally

ANI | Updated: Apr 29, 2018 23:30 IST

New Delhi [India] April 29 (ANI): Mahila Congress workers on Sunday were very vocal at their party's Jan Aakrosh rally here at Ramlila Maidan on Sunday.

Congress President Rahul Gandhi addressed the rally, which was organised to the alleged failures and corruption of the Prime Minister Narendra Modi-led government.

Mahila Congress workers, who had assembled at the rally from all over India, were seen displaying placards like 'Stop rape' and 'Bring daughter to parliament', 'Promise was Make in India, but it has been turned into Rape In India'

A Mahila Congress worker from Delhi told ANI, "There is no price for a woman's modesty. Some ministers have said that women having children can't be raped. How could they say this? Have they made women a commodity? The woman is not a commodity."

A Mahila Congress leader from Allahabad said, "The situation in the country, especially in Uttar Pradesh, is very bad. Prime Minister Modi is only doing publicity but corruption is widespread, the condition of women has deteriorated, and even girl children are being raped."

The other Congress workers were also upbeat and said the rally would lay the foundation stone for the departure of Narendra Modi government in 2019.

"The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) government is working against the public from the last four years. Corruption has increased, inflation has skyrocketed, the promise of Achey din is nowhere to be seen. This rally is to expose Narendra Modi government and to bring back Congress in 2019," a Congress worker told ANI.

A Congress worker said, "The Prime Minister doesn't have a moral courage to face Rahul Gandhi in Parliament. This rally is not of the Congress but to reflect the feelings of the masses. The common people want to end Modi rule."

The rally also saw participation of United Progressive Alliance (UPA) Chairperson Sonia Gandhi, former Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh and senior Congress leaders like: Gulam Nabi Azad, Ahmed Patel, Ashok Gehlot, Kamal Nath, Jyotiraditya Scindia, Janardan Dwivedi, Madhusudan Mistry, Ambika Soni, Ajay Maken, Sushil Kumar Shinde, Mohsina Kidwai, Salman Khurshid, Shivraj Patil, P Chidambaram, and Captain Amarinder Singh.

Chief Ministers of Congress-ruled states, ex-chief ministers, Pradesh Congress Committee chiefs, Congress Legislature Party leaders, Seva Dal and Youth Congress leaders were also present at the rally.

Karnataka Chief Minister Siddaramaiah was not present at the rally due to upcoming assembly elections in the state. (ANI)