MP by-polls: Congress retains Mungaoli seat

ANI | Updated: Feb 28, 2018 20:25 IST

Bhopal (Uttar Pradesh) [India], Feb 28 (ANI): The Congress on Wednesday emerged victorious in the Mungaoli assembly seat in Madhya Pradesh.

Congress candidate Brajendra Singh Yadav defeated Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate, Baisahab Yadav by 2124 votes.

Meanwhile, Congress is also leading in Kolaras Assembly seat.

There was 77.25 percent voting recorded in Mungaoli and 72.82 percent in Kolaras on Saturday.

Both the constituency saw high voltage campaigns from the ruling BJP and Congress.

While Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan led the BJP campaign with a host of ministers, Congress MP Jyotiraditya Scindia led the Congress campaign.

Both the seats fall under are part of Guna Lok Sabha seat, which is represented by Congress leader Jyotiraditya Madhavrao Scindia.

The assembly seats fell vacant after the death of sitting Congress MLAs Mahendra Singh Kalukheda (Mungaoli) and Ram Singh Yadav (Kolaras). (ANI)