Nara Lokesh
Nara Lokesh

No-Confidence motion: TDP accuses Centre of making fake promises

ANI | Updated: Jul 20, 2018 15:45 IST

New Delhi [India], Jul 20 (ANI): At a time when a debate under no-confidence motion moved by the TDP against the Centre is in progress, party's general secretary Nara Lokesh on Friday hit out at the BJP Government over Special category status for Andhra Pradesh.
Lokesh taking to twitter said that along with his party, each and every citizen of the state will join the battle against the Centre demanding their rights.
Lokesh while asserting that his party will give justice which was overlooked by the previous government, tweeted, "We joined the NDA in 2014 with the hope that BJP under the leadership of Prime Minister Modi will undo the injustices that were done to Andhra Pradesh during the earlier regime. We pleaded, we waited and we made the rounds."
"We got what in return? Fake promises, fake assurances and fake smiles. Nothing moved, nothing happened. For what you did, if not for @ncbn AP would have become an abandoned child without parents, without hope. Enough of your drama and enough of your time pass tactics. Every Telugu will rise for Andhra Pradesh, every man and woman will join the battle against Centre because. #APDemandsJustice," he added.

Meanwhile, Janasena chief Pawan Kalyan also slammed both the BJP and the TDP and accused them of indulging into 'political theatrics'.
"BJP and TDP had wasted a great opportunity given to them by people of Andhra Pradesh. They could have truly stood by people instead of this political theatrics, which is causing a great deal of public's valuable time, money and agony," Kalyan Tweeted.

"I join the people of Andhra Pradesh in urging the BJP led Government of India to respond positively for the SCS. No greater Platform than Parliament to understand and empathise with this Right of ours. Please deliver Justice," he added.

Telugu Desam Party (TDP) leader Jayadev Galla on Friday termed the Narendra Modi-led government a "saga of empty promises" as he began the Lok Sabha proceedings on the no-confidence motion against the Central government.
The Opposition brought the motion against the central government on several issues like special status to Andhra Pradesh, cow vigilantism, lynchings, atrocities against women and Dalits and alleged dilution of the SC/ST Act.
The NDA last faced the no-confidence motion under the leadership of former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee in 2003. The Vajpayee-led government at the Centre had defeated the motion with an overwhelming majority.
To defeat the no-confidence motion, the BJP would require to gain a mark of 268 votes. The NDA at present counts 312 members in the 535-member Lok Sabha, including 274 members of the BJP.
The Narendra Modi-led Government is facing its first no-confidence motion, four years after winning the 2014 mandate as the first single-party majority in three decades. (ANI)