Surendra Kumar, CEO, Odish talking to ANI on Wednesday
Surendra Kumar, CEO, Odish talking to ANI on Wednesday

Odisha: Patkura assembly elections on May 19

ANI | Updated: Apr 25, 2019 06:03 IST

Bhubaneswar (Odisha) [India], Apr 25 (ANI): The Election Commission has announced that Patkura assembly elections, which was scheduled to be held on April 29 but was countermanded following the death of BJD candidate Bed Prakash Agarwal will now be held on May  19.
The apex poll body also announced May 1 as the last last date of filing nominations by candidates.
 “Election for Patkura assembly constituency had been adjourned because of the demise of BJD candidate Bed Prakash Agarwalla. Now with EC's orders, the process has recommenced, BJD is authorised to nominate a candidate,” said Surendra Kumar, Chief Electoral Officer, Odisha.
“The last date for filing nominations is May 1. The election will be held on May 19. Counting will be held as usual on May 23,” he added.
The BJD leader Bed Prakash Agarwalla from Patkura constituency passed away while undergoing treatment at a private hospital in Bhubaneswar on Saturday.
The veteran leader, 83, had represented Patkura constituency twice -- 2009 and 2014. He was also a four-time MLA from Kendrapara Assembly seat. (ANI)