Om Prakash Rawat to take over as new CEC today

ANI | Updated: Jan 23, 2018 07:59 IST

New Delhi [India], Jan 23 (ANI): Om Prakash Rawat, who has been appointed as the next Chief Election Commissioner, will take over the charge on Tuesday.

He will succeed AK Joti, who retired yesterday. Rawat's tenure will end in December this year.

He was appointed Election Commissioner in August 2015.

Born on December 2, 1953, Rawat is a former Madhya Pradesh cadre IAS officer.

Sunil Arora is the other Election Commissioner in the three-member poll body.

Former finance secretary Ashok Lavasa was appointed Election Commissioner on Sunday. His appointment will come into effect from the day he assumes office. (ANI)