OP Rawat takes charge as Chief Election Commissioner

ANI | Updated: Jan 23, 2018 13:54 IST

New Delhi [India], Jan 23 (ANI): Om Prakash Rawat took charge as the new Chief Election Commissioner of India in Delhi, on Tuesday.

He replaced former CEC Achal Kumar Jyoti.

Born on December 2, 1953, Rawat is a 1977 batch IAS officer from Madhya Pradesh cadre.

During his over the three-decade-long career, he has served at various levels, both at state and Centre. Besides serving in Defence and Heavy Industries ministries, Rawat had also been Principal Secretary to then Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Babu Lal Gaur from 2004 and 2006.

Also, Ashok Lavasa, a 1980-batch IAS officer of the Haryana cadre, has been appointed as the next Election Commissioner and will fill the sole vacancy in the three-member ECI created with Rawat's appointment. (ANI)