President Kovind approves disqualification of 20 AAP MLAs

ANI | Updated: Jan 21, 2018 16:02 IST

New Delhi [India], Jan. 21 (ANI): Twenty Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) MLAs, accused of holding the ‘office of profit’, were disqualified from the Delhi Assembly on Sunday after President Ram Nath Kovind approved the Election Commission of India’s (ECI) recommendation in the matter.

 “Having considered the matter in the light of the opinion expressed by the Election Commission, I, Ram Nath Kovind, president of India, in exercise of the here hold that the aforesaid 20 members of the Delhi legislative assembly stand disqualified from being members of the said assembly,” read a notification issued by the law ministry.

Earlier in the day, Delhi's Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia alleged that the AAP had not been given an opportunity by the ECI to explain its stand.

The ECI on Friday recommended to the president that 20 AAP MLAs should be disqualified from the assembly.

Initially, the petition was directed at 21 MLAs, but one MLA, named Jarnail Singh, resigned to contest in the Punjab elections last year. (ANI)