Representative Image
Representative Image

PUSU Polls: ABVP bags 3 seats out of 5 in central panel

ANI | Updated: Dec 06, 2018 09:10 IST

Patna (Bihar) [India], Dec 6 (ANI): The Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) has bagged three out of the five posts in the central panel of the Patna University Students' Union (PUSU), while the remaining two seats were won by the student wing of the Janata Dal (United).
Mohit Prakash from Janata Dal (United) won the post of president, Anjana Singh from ABVP won the post of vice-president, Manikant Mani and Raja Ravi from ABVP won the post of Chief Secretary and Joint Secretary, respectively, and Kumar Satyam from Janata Dal (United) was been elected as the treasurer.
The polls have been in the limelight after the vice president of Janata Dal (United) student wing Prashant Kishor was attacked on campus.
Kishor was at the University to meet its Vice-Chancellor Rash Bihari Prasad Singh on Tuesday when a group of students surrounded his car while he was returning from the meeting and vandalised the vehicle.
After being attacked on campus, Kishor hit out at the ABVP saying they will not be able to get over with the fear of losing the PUSU elections by attacking him.
The BJP, which is in alliance with the Janata Dal (United) in Bihar, had accused Kishor of trying to influence the elections in the University.
On December 2, four leaders of the BJP, without naming anybody, had said: "Some people related to media, advertising, and event management are trying to influence the student union election and nobody has till now raised any objection to it." (ANI)