Sachin Pilot
Sachin Pilot

Rajasthan Assembly polls: Sachin Pilot files nomination from Tonk

ANI | Updated: Nov 19, 2018 17:44 IST

Jaipur (Rajasthan) [India], Nov 19 (ANI): Rajasthan Pradesh Congress Committee (RPCC) president Sachin Pilot on Monday filed his nomination from Tonk Assembly constituency.
Pilot's name figured in the first list of 152 candidates for the Rajasthan assembly elections, which was announced on Thursday night.
After detailed deliberations at the party's Central Election Committee, it was decided that Pilot would contest from Tonk assembly constituency.
Hours before the announcement of the candidate list, Pilot had stated that he had left the final decision on the party high command. "It is the party's decision that I have to contest the elections. I am a diligent party worker. I have left the decision of choosing my constituency to the party," Pilot told ANI adding that party has done a lot of brainstorming over the list.
Pilot was a Lok Sabha MP from Dausa in 2004 and from Ajmer in 2009. He lost the 2014 election to BJP's Sanwar Lal Jat. However, after Jat's death, the Congress party recaptured the seat in 2017 by-election and Raghu Sharma became the Ajmer MP.
Senior Congress leader and former chief minister Ashok Gehlot on Monday filed his nomination for the ensuing Rajasthan Assembly elections from Sardarpura seat.
The assembly elections will take place in a single phase for all 200 seats on December 7. The counting of votes will take place on December 11. (ANI)