Representative image
Representative image

Rajesh Kumar to replace Anuj Sharma as Kolkata police commissioner

ANI | Updated: Apr 05, 2019 23:55 IST

New Delhi [India], April 5 (ANI): The Election Commission has directed the Chief Secretary of West Bengal to appoint Rajesh Kumar, ADG Pollution Control Board as the new Kolkata Commissioner of Police, in place of incumbent officer Anuj Sharma.
The EC has also directed Natarajan Ramesh Babu - ADG and IGP, Operations - to be posted as CP, Bidhan Nagar, Avannu Ravindranath, DC (Airport Division), Bidhan as SP, Birbhum.
The state chief secretary has also been directed to post Srihari Pandey, DC, KAP 3rd Battalion as SP, Diamond Harbour.
"The direction of the Commission be implemented with immediate effect and a compliance report in respect of joining of officers be send within 24 hours", the commission has said in its letter. 
The directives, the EC said, were issued in the wake of the impending Lok Sabha polls, starting April 11.    (ANI)