Raghuraj Pratap Singh
Raghuraj Pratap Singh

Six-time independent MLA to launches political party in UP

ANI | Updated: Nov 16, 2018 19:12 IST

Lucknow (Uttar Pradesh) [India], Nov 16 (ANI): Ahead of the Lok-Sabha elections 2019, Raghuraj Pratap Singh alias Raja Bhaiya, the political strongman and six-time Member of Legislative Assembly (MLA) from Kunda in Pratapgarh district of Uttar Pradesh, on Friday announced the formation of a new political party. He said that he has already approached the Election Commission of India (ECI) for its registration.
Addressing a press conference, Singh said, "I have completed 25 years in politics, have been an independent politician and MLA, so now have decided to form a political party. I have approached the EC for registration."
Raja Bhaiya had held important portfolios in the governments led by Kalyan Singh, Ram Prakash Gupta, Rajnath Singh, Mulayam Singh Yadav, and Akhilesh Yadav, though he never contested elections on any party's ticket.
However, the new party's name has not been decided yet. He said that names like Jansatta Dal, Jansatta Party, Jansatta Loktrantik Party may get finalised. (ANI)