TD leader CM Ramesh
TD leader CM Ramesh

TDP's CM Ramesh wins PAC poll

ANI | Updated: Aug 06, 2018 20:44 IST

New Delhi (India), Aug 6 (ANI): Telugu Desam Party member of Parliament CM Ramesh on Monday won the Public Accounts Committee (PAC) election in the Rajya Sabha.
Following his victory, Ramesh said, "The Opposition got united, voted for me and I won. This is a victory for the Opposition, the government has lost this."
Ramesh won as member PAC by getting 106 votes while BJP leader Bhupender Yadav bagged 69 votes and JD(U) leader Harivansh, who is likely to be NDA's candidate for the Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman's post, received 26 votes.
The PAC is a committee of selected members of Parliament for auditing revenue and expenditure of the government. It is formed every year with a strength of not more than 22 members, of which 15 are from the Lok Sabha, and seven from the Rajya Sabha.
The term of office of the members is one year. The chairman is appointed by the Speaker of the Lok Sabha. The current PAC is headed by senior Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge. The term of office of members of the committee does not exceed one year at a time.(Ani)