Representative Image
Representative Image

TMC writes letter to CEC opposing transfer of Cooch Behar police chief

ANI | Updated: Apr 10, 2019 06:47 IST

New Delhi [India], April 10 (ANI): Trinamool Congress (TMC) has written a letter to the Chief Election Commissioner expressing discontent over the transfer of Cooch Behar Superintendent of Police (SP) Abhishek Gupta.
In the letter which was submitted on Tuesday night, TMC termed the transfer "an arbitrary and biased order" of the Election Commission of India. The party also alleged that the transfer was done on the behest of the BJP.
“From the events unfolded in the recent past, it is amply clear that such order of transfer has been passed at the behest of the ruling party at Centre i.e. BJP, its national leaders as well as its local representatives in West Bengal, especially in view of the statements issued by its leaders during the recent election meeting held at Cooch Behar,” the party claimed. 
TMC also alleged that BJP leaders during an election meeting on April 7 had threatened Gupta of "dire consequences."
“In the presence of the Prime Minister, Mukul Roy has hinted that Abhishek Gupta, the Superintendent of Police will be robbed of his uniform. He obliquely hinted that he would soon be replaced and/or transferred by the Election Commission as if he has full control over the Election Commission,” TMC said in its complaint.
“Your action clearly indicates that such decision has been taken as per his instruction and compel us to question the bona fide of the decision,” read the letter.
Through the letter, the party has requested the EC to review its order and ensure a free and fair election in the state.
A TMC delegation led by Derek O’Brien is also expected to meet the Chief Election Commissioner later today in this regard.
Polling for the 42 Lok Sabha seats at stake in West Bengal will be held in all seven phases from April 11 to May 19.
Two parliamentary constituencies of West Bengal- Cooch Behar and Alipurduar - will go to polls on April 11. The counting of votes will take place on May 23. (ANI)