Vijay Rupani to continue as Gujarat CM

ANI | Updated: Dec 22, 2017 17:33 IST

Gujarat [India], December 22 (ANI): Vijay Rupani on Friday has been announced as the chief minister of Gujarat.

Nitin Patel will also continue as the Deputy Chief Minister of the state.

Vijay Rupani chosen as Legislature party leader unanimously, Nitin Bhai Patel as the deputy Legislature party leader in a meeting today. Will inform you all about the swearing in, soon,” Uniom Minister Arun Jaitley said while addressing the media in Gandhinagar.

He further said that both the leaders were elected unanimously after their name was proposed for the post in the house.

“The Process of electing is that we set process into motion as central observers, call upon elected MLAs to propose a name. Bhupendra Singh proposed these two names for the leader and Deputy leader which was supported by five other MLAs who came to the dais and supported them. This was then put to the house which they unanimously accepted. I also asked the members if anybody had any alternative proposal, and since there was none, the two were declared as unanimously elected,” he added.

Meanwhile, Rupani supporters are celebrating outside the BJP office in Gujarat's Gandhinagar.

Rupani, Patel and other ministers had on Thursday submitted their resignation to Governor O.P. Kohlidays after the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) registered a victory in the Gujarat assembly elections.

The BJP won the election for the 182-member Gujarat Assembly on Monday, claiming a clear majority of 99 seats.

The Congress Party trailed in second with 77 seats, followed by the Bharatiya Tribal Party (two) and NCP (one), while independent candidates won three seats.

Rupani secured a comfortable win from Rajkot West seat by 1,31,586 votes, which is the largest constituency in the Saurashtra region. (ANI)