हिंदी खबर

Yogi, four others to take oath as Members of Legislative Council today

ANI | Updated: Sep 18, 2017 08:38 IST

Lucknow (Uttar Pradesh) [India], September 18 (ANI): Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, Deputy Chief Ministers Keshav Prasad Maurya, Dinesh Sharma, Minister of State for Transport (Independent Charge) Swatantradev Singh and Minister Mohsin Raza will take oath as Members of Legislative Council today.

On September 8, the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council nominated the candidates for the Assembly. They were elected unopposed to the Legislative Council.

Adityanath, Sharma and Maurya had filed their nominations on September 5 for the five seats that went to polls.

Adityanath had taken oath as the Chief Minister on March 19 and became a legislator within six months of assuming office that will expire on September 19.

All of them had to get elected to either the Assembly or the Legislative Council before September 19 in order to continue as ministers.

Adityanath and Maurya are presently members of the Lok Sabha. (ANI)