10 ministers inducted into Odisha Cabinet

| Updated: Aug 23, 2017 11:20 IST

Bhubaneswar [India], May. 7 (ANI): The Naveen Patnaik-led Biju Janata Dal (BJD) government in Odisha today inducted 10 ministers including six new faces in its Cabinet. Odisha Governor Dr. SC Jamir administered the oath to six cabinet and four state rank ministers at a ceremony held at Raj Bhavan in Bhubaneswar this morning. Portfolios of two ministers have been elevated to the status of cabinet rank. Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, Deputy Speaker and others leaders of BJD were present at the oath taking function. However, the name of Karanjia MLA Bijay Nayak, who was supposed to take oath as state rank minister, was dropped from the list at the last minute. Though Patnaik expressed hope that the ministerial reshuffle will contribute towards the growth and development of the people of Odisha and BJD, the Opposition described it as a disastrous cosmetic makeover. (ANI)