BJP leader and Bihar Deputy Chief Minister Sushil Kumar Modi
BJP leader and Bihar Deputy Chief Minister Sushil Kumar Modi

3-member panel to decide BJP candidates in Bihar

ANI | Updated: Mar 14, 2019 17:55 IST

Patna (Bihar) [India], Mar 14 (ANI): BJP’s Election Committee on Thursday authorised the party’s state unit president Nityanand Rai, Prem Kumar, and Deputy Chief Minister Sushil Kumar Modi to decide candidates and their seats for the ensuing Lok Sabha elections in the state, where 40 seats are at stake.
After the meeting, Road Construction Minister Nand Kishore Yadav said the meeting has authorised to three leaders—Rai, Modi, and Agriculture Minister Prem Kumar—to select candidates for 17 Lok Sabha seats which the BJP would be contesting in the state.
BJP ally—JDU—is contesting 17 seats, while Union Minister Ram Vilas Pawan led Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) will contest six seats.        
Yadav said that the final list prepared by the three-member committee will be sent to the BJP’s Central Election Committee (CEC) for discussion and approval. It has been learnt that the NDA will declare candidates for all 40 seats before March 21.
Yadav said that the entire exercise will be completed before the meeting of BJP Parliamentary Party, which is scheduled for March 16 and March 18. He said that the meeting was attended among others by RS member Bhupendra Yadav and in-charge for the party’s Bihar affairs. (ANI)