Arunachal verdict: SC has restored faith in Constitution, says JD (U)

| Updated: Jul 14, 2016 14:39 IST

New Delhi, July 14 (ANI): The Janata Dal (United) on Thursday dubbed the Supreme Court verdict to restore Nabam Tuki-led Congress Government in Arunachal Pradesh as a 'rebuke' for the BJP-led Centre, saying that the judgment had restored the faith of the people in the Constitution. "Our faith in the Constitution has been restored by the Supreme Court. The judgment raises very fundamental questions with regard to the role of the Governor and complete neglect of the tenth schedule of the Constitution which deaqls with defection. Thirdly, raises questions on total misuse of article 356, which allows establishment of President's Rule," JD (U) leader Pavan Verma told ANI. "All these things have come to the fore in this judgment and it is certainly a rebuke for the BJP government. The manner in which they tried to destabilize the democratically elected governments, first in Arunachal and then in Uttarakhand," he added. Nabam Tuki on Wednesday evening took charge as Chief Minister of the state at Arunachal Bhavan here in Delhi. In a major setback to the BJP-ruled Centre, the apex court earlier today quashed "message and direction" issued by Arunachal Pradesh Governor Jyoti Prasad Rajkhowa and restored status quo as on December 15 when Congress' Nabam Tuki was the chief minister. A five-judge constitution bench pronounced the verdict on a bunch of petitions dealing with discretionary powers of the governor to summon or advance the assembly session. Stating the governor's direction on conducting assembly proceedings is unconstitutional, the apex court set aside all steps and decision taken by the legislative assembly pursuant to the governor's December 9th last year order and said they are unsustainable. Arunachal Pradesh had been under President's Rule since January 26. Tuki-led Congress government was dismissed following days of turmoil after 21 of its 47 lawmakers rebelled against the chief minister. The Congress, which had 47 MLAs seats in the 60-member assembly, suffered a jolt when 21 of its lawmakers rebelled. Eleven BJP MLAs backed the rebels in the bid to upstage the government. Later, 14 rebel Congress MLAs were disqualified. (ANI)