BJP president Amit Shah
BJP president Amit Shah

BJP announces its candidates for Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal assembly polls

ANI | Updated: Mar 17, 2019 23:25 IST

New Delhi [India], Mar 17 (ANI): Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Sunday released its list of candidates for the Assembly elections in Andhra Pradesh and Arunachal Pradesh.
In Andhra Pradesh, the party has released the names of 123 candidates while 54 candidates for Arunachal Pradesh after a meeting of the Central Election Committee (CEC).
The meeting was attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP president Amit Shah, Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj and all other members of the CEC.
The election for 175 assembly constituencies in Andhra Pradesh shall take place on April 11 in single phase along with the Lok Sabha election in the state. 
BJP has fielded Tulasi Nath N S against Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu from Kuppam assembly seat.
In 2014 assembly elections, N Chandra Babu Naidu-led TDP had won 103 seats and YSR Congress won 67 seats. BJP had won only four seats and the Congress could not win even a single seat.
The main opposition in Andhra Pradesh, the YSR Congress has already released its full list of candidates for 25 Lok Sabha and 175 Assembly constituencies.
Chief Minister of Arunachal Pradesh Pema Khandu will contest from Mukto assembly constituency.
Khandu joined BJP after he and several other MLAs were suspended by the People’s Party of Arunachal (PPA) from the primary membership of the party for alleged anti-party activities.
The 60-assembly of Arunachal Pradesh will go to polls on April 11 simultaneously with the Lok Sabha poll. (ANI)