BJP releases first list of candidates for UP, Uttarakhand Polls

| Updated: Aug 23, 2017 11:20 IST

Agra (Uttar Pradesh) [India], Jan. 16 (ANI): The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Monday announced its first list of candidates for the upcoming assembly election polls in Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh. Union Health Minister J.P. Nadda while addressing a press conference here released list of 149 candidates for phase 1 and 2 Assembly elections of Uttar Pradesh and the list of 64 candidates for Uttarakhand. The list was finalised by party's Central Election Committee (CEC) which was attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi. Home Minister Rajnath Singh, Finance Minister Arun Jaitley and other members of the BJP Committee. BJP National Secretary Shrikant Sharma will contest election from Mathura, Laxmikant Bajpai will fight from Meerut, Saurabh Bahuguna son of Vijay Bahuguna will contest from Sitarganj. "I would like to thank the committee, especially to the party president and Prime Minister for giving me a chance to contest election," Sharma told ANI after getting the ticket. The prominent faces from the nominations made by BJP for the Uttarakhand polls includes Yashpal Arya from Bajpur, Harak Singh Rawat Kotdwar, ex-MP Satpal Maharaj from Chaubattakhal. Elections will be held in seven phases in Uttar Pradesh starting February 11, and nominations for the first phase begin on January 17 whereas the people of Uttarakhand will vote on February 15 . Votes will be counted on March 11. (ANI)