Cabinet approves amendments in central list of OBC applicable to Andhra, Telangana

| Updated: Aug 04, 2016 01:50 IST

New Delhi, Aug. 3 (ANI): The Union Cabinet chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Wednesday gave its approval for making suitable amendments in the Central List of OBCs by way of inclusion/correction/deletion of castes/communities applicable to the state of Andhra Pradesh and the newly formed State of Telangana as per the advice received from the National Commission for Backward Classes (NCBC). A total of 35 changes recommended by NCBC in respect of Andhra Pradesh and 86 New Entries in respect of Telangana will be notified. The changes will enable the persons belonging to these castes/ communities in Andhra Pradesh and Telangana to avail the benefits of reservation in Government services and posts as well as in Central Educational Institutions as per extant policy. They will also become eligible for benefit under the various welfare schemes, scholarships etc. being administered by the Central Government, which are at present available to the persons belonging to the Other Backward Classes. On the recommendation of the Commission a total of 2401 Entries for inclusion, including its synonyms, sub-castes, etc. in the Central List of Other Backward Classes have been notified in 24 states and six Union Territories. The last such notification was issued on May 26. Since then, several more recommendations for inclusion of castes/communities and corrections in the existing list of OBCs for Andhra Pradesh and the new state of Telangana have been received from NCBC. Under Section 9 ("Functions of the Commission") of the NCBC Act 1993, the Commission examines requests for inclusion of any class of citizens as a backward class in the lists and hears complaints of over-inclusion or under-inclusion of any backward class in such lists and tenders such advice to the Central Government. The Act also stipulates that the advice of the Commission shall ordinarily be binding upon the Central Government. (ANI)