Representative Image
Representative Image

Cabinet approves notifications for LS elections 

ANI | Updated: Mar 13, 2019 15:55 IST

New Delhi [India] March 13 (ANI): The Union Cabinet chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Wednesday approved the issuance of statutory notifications for General Elections to the Lok Sabha 2019 under sub-section(2) of Section 14 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951.
It provides for calling upon the parliamentary constituencies to elect Members to the House on the dates to be recommended by the Election Commission of India in its proceedings.
The issuance of notifications would begin the election process for constituting the 17th Lok Sabha. 
Election Commission of India (ECI) on Sunday had announced the schedule for the 17th Lok Sabha election to be held in seven phases beginning April 11. The final phase of voting will take place on May 19. The counting of votes will be done on May 23.
The last date for withdrawal of candidature for the first phase is March 28 while the first phase polling will take place on April 11.
The phase two polling will be on April 18, third phase on April 23, fourth phase on April 29, fifth phase on May 6, sixth phase on May 12, and the phase seven polling will take place on May 19.
 The tenure of the 16th Lok Sabha expires on June 3. (ANI)