हिंदी खबर

Cabinet reshuffle: Its maximum politics and minimum governance, says JD-U

| Updated: Jul 06, 2016 15:30 IST

New Delhi, July 6 (ANI): A day after Prime Minister Narendra Modi expanded his Cabinet, JD (U) leader Pawan Verma on Wednesday dubbed it as a 'classic example of a directionless game of musical chairs', adding it is illustration of maximum politics and minimum governance. "Its PM's prerogative but we have the right to comment on it. In my mind what has happened is a classic example of a directionless game of musical chairs. Ministers have been randomly moved... for example- Mr Sadananda Gowda has moved to two or three portfolio but has failed to perform, Minister of Agriculture has been a distinct failure. So this is not maximum governance minimum politics, it is maximum politics and minimum governance," Verma told ANI here. Verma also said that moving Smriti Irani from the HRD ministry was a good step, adding that it is not compulsory that she will do well in textiles. "In a Ministry which have been occupied by people of the likes of Mr Murli Manohar Joshi she was a misfit. But I see that changes have been made without necessarily governance improving. And people of India are looking for governance," he added. In a much-awaited Cabinet reshuffle, Prime Minister Modi had yesterday inducted 19 new faces, who have been chosen after an exhaustive vetting process to carry forward the government's vision of 'Gaon, Garib aur Kisan'. The 19 leaders from the BJP and alliance partners the Apna Dal, AGP and RPI were sworn-in at a glittering ceremony held at the Rastrapati Bhawan here. Minister of State for Environment and Forests Prakash Javadekar, who has been promoted to the Cabinet rank, was the first to take the oath. Earlier, President Pranab Mukherjee, acting on the advice of Prime Minister Modi, appointed the following as members of the Council of Ministers: Cabinet Minister: 1. Prakash Javadekar Ministers Of State: 1. Faggan Singh Kulaste 2. S.S. Ahluwalia 3. Ramesh Chandappa Jigajinagi 4. Vijay Goel 5. Ramdas Athawale 6. Rajen Gohain 7. Anil Madhav Dave 8. Parshottam Rupala 9. M.J. Akbar 10. Arjun Ram Meghwal 11. Jaswantsinh Sumanbhai Bhabhor 12. Dr. Mahendra Nath Pandey 13. Ajay Tamta 14. Krishna Raj 15. Mansukh L. Mandaviya 16. Anupriya Patel 17. C.R. Chaudhary 18. P.P. Chaudhary 19. Subhash Ramrao Bhamre According to sources, the selection framework clearly laid out by the Prime Minister was to bring in "doers and performers", who would deliver on his vision of development and good governance. This marks a firm departure from the usual routine of frequent changes based on caste, religion and other time serving political considerations - and is a firm endorsement of the brand of developmental politics that the Prime Minister champions, they added. The decision of expanding the Council of Ministers came after taking into consideration a diverse range of factors. The first major Cabinet reshuffle was in November 2014. According to the Constitution, a maximum of 82 ministers can be accommodated in the Cabinet. (ANI)