Congress president Rahul Gandhi (File Pic)
Congress president Rahul Gandhi (File Pic)

Cong releases list of candidates for Assembly polls in Andhra Pradesh, Odisha

ANI | Updated: Mar 19, 2019 03:12 IST

New Delhi [India], May 19 (ANI): The Congress on Monday released its list for the upcoming Assembly polls in Andhra Pradesh and Odisha.
The list was released by All India Congress Committee (AICC) General Secretary Mukul Wasnik after it was cleared by the Central election committee of the Congress. It contains of 132 candidates for Andhra Pradesh 36 for Odisha Assembly polls.
Congress has fielded Ram Krishna Panda from Hinjili constituency, which has been represented four times by Biju Janata Dal chief and Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik. This time too, Patnaik will be contesting from Hinjili Assembly seat that falls under the Aska Lok Sabha constituency which used to be the stronghold of his father and a legendary figure of Odisha, Biju Patnaik.
The Assembly elections to the 175-member Andhra Pradesh Assembly are scheduled to be held on April 11 while the polls for 147-member Odisha Assembly will be held in four phases starting from April 11 to April 29.
The counting of votes will take place on May 23. (ANI)