Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath speaking at a rally here on Monday. Photo/ANI
Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath speaking at a rally here on Monday. Photo/ANI

Congress, BJD have 'anti-national mentality', claims Yogi

ANI | Updated: Apr 15, 2019 15:07 IST

Rourkela (Odisha) [India], Apr 15 (ANI): Stepping up the Bharatiya Janata Party's (BJP) attack against Opposition parties over national security, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath on Monday accused the Congress and Biju Janata Dal (BJD) of having an "anti-national mentality."
"The BJP, under the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, is working with a motive of 'sabka saath sabka vikas' for the welfare of the people. On the other hand, Congress and BJD's stand is exposed because of their negative and anti-India mentality, and for adopting a soft approach towards Naxalism, terrorism and anti-India activities," he said at a rally here.
The BJP leader claimed that Congress and BJD were in the electoral process only to create a mess and had no agenda of development for the poor and the youth.
Adityanath also said that only BJP can take tough decisions to eradicate the menace of terrorism. "It is only BJP which talks about zero tolerance policy towards terrorism. Only BJP can eliminate terrorists by storming into their safe houses," Yogi told the gathering. 
He went on to accuse Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik-led Odisha government of failing to implement the Centre's welfare schemes.
"Money sent by central government for the development of Odisha has not been used by the BJD government. Naveen Babu's government has flopped in implementing schemes whether it is about providing Rs 5 lakh insurance cover under Ayushman Bharat or the toilet scheme," he said.
Yogi alleged that the state government did nothing to prevent religious conversions in Odisha and asserted that if there was a BJP government in the state, it would not let that happen. "The BJD never gave a thought to it," he added. 
The Lok Sabha and Assembly elections are being held simultaneously in four phases in Odisha. Counting of votes will take place on May 23. (ANI)