Don't believe in poll-rigging, have confidence in people to win bye-polls: AIADMK

| Updated: Aug 23, 2017 11:20 IST

Chennai (Tamil Nadu) [India], Nov. 19 (ANI): Dispelling opposition Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) claims that the ruling All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) will manouvre assembly elections in its favour, AIADMK member C.R. Saraswathy has said there is no need for her party to indulge in this misconduct. "AIADMK always fight polls in a fair manner, had it not, DMK wouldn't have gotten even 89 seats. Had we behaved like DMK, than we would have usurped all seats? Let the people decide. It's only because people desired Amma (Jayalalithaa) that she became the chief minister. We are absolutely confident that in all of these four constituencies, Amma will get a very good victory," Saraswathy told ANI. All arrangements have been made by the election commission to conduct the polls in Thanjavur, Aravakurichi and Tiruparakundram. In all, eighty one candidates are in the fray from the AIADMK, DMK, BJP and MDMK. Votes will be counted on Tuesday and the results will be announced on the same day. Voting will start at 7 a.m. and end by 5 p.m. In Thanjavur, 276 polling booths have been set up for 268516 voters, in Aravakurichi, 245 polling booths have been set up for 200347 voters and in Tiruparakundram 291 polling booths have been set up for 285980 voters. Live webcasting of the voting process in 96 booths in Aravakurichi, 275 booths in Thanjavur, and 254 booths will be monitored. Fourteen candidates for Thanjavur, 39 for Aravakurichi and 28 candidates for Tiruparakundram are contesting the election. The elections in Thanjavur and Aravakurichi were postponed after huge seizure of money by election commission flying squads during the election in May this year. (ANI)