Election Commission of India (File photo)
Election Commission of India (File photo)

ECI transfers 3 IPS officers in Andhra over allegations of favoring TDP

ANI | Updated: Mar 27, 2019 05:28 IST

New Delhi [India], Mar 27 (ANI): The Election Commission of India (ECI) on Tuesday transferred three Indian Police Service (IPS) officers in Andhra Pradesh after YSRCP leaders accused them of working in favour of ruling Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu-led Telugu Desam Party (TDP).
The ECI issued orders transferring Intelligence Director General AB Venkateswara Rao, Kadapa Superintendent of Police (SP) Rahul Dev Sharma and Srikakulam SP Venkata Ratnam. The three are ordered to report to the police headquarters.
This comes after a delegation of YSRCP leaders led by Member of Parliament (MP) Vijayasai Reddy met with the ECI to register a complaint against some police officers, alleging that they are working in favour of ruling TDP.
The ECI in its order attaching all three IPS officers stated that their immediate subordinates will take charge.
Also, the three officers have been asked to not take-up any election-related duty.
The election to 175-member Andhra Pradesh Assembly is scheduled to be held on April 11 simultaneously with the Lok Sabha polls. The counting of votes will take place on May 23. (ANI)