Finalists announced for 2018-19 Tibetan scholarship program

| Updated: Aug 23, 2017 11:20 IST

Dharamshala (Himachal Pradesh) [India], May 12 (ANI): Representatives from the U.S. Embassy New Delhi and the Department of Education, Central Tibetan Administration (CTA) interviewed applicants for the 2018-2019 Tibetan Scholarship Program (TSP) on Friday. First Secretary Matthew Asada, U.S. Embassy New Delhi and Kalon Ngodup Tsering, Department of Education, CTA, announced the six finalists and five alternates. The TSP was established in 1987 through legislation to educate future Tibetan leaders. Since then, approximately 435 Tibetans have attended U.S. universities under its auspices, including Dr. Lobsang Sangay, the current President of the CTA. The Tibet Fund, a non-governmental organization based in New York City administers the program in close partnership with the Department of Education, CTA and U.S. Embassies New Delhi and Kathmandu. Students from Tibetan refugee communities in India and Nepal are eligible to apply for these two-year graduate fellowships in more than a dozen fields, including business, computer science, cyber security, education, international law, international relations, journalism, psychology, public health, and science. Each year approximately six students are selected contingent upon funding. Upon their return, the fellows must serve the Tibetan community for a minimum period of two years, and may join the Tibetan Scholarship Program Alumni Association. (ANI)