Gear up for the 'real earthquake' on March 11: Congress warns BJP

| Updated: Aug 23, 2017 11:20 IST

New Delhi [India], Feb 7. (ANI): Issuing a warning to the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) to get prepared for a 'real-earthquake', Congress leader Jyotiraditya Scindia on Tuesday said that the ruling dispensation should gear-up for a rude awakening in the election results on March 11. "The Prime Minister and his party should be ready for the real earthquake on March 11 that will clear all the misconceptions", he told ANI here. He further said that the people of India will show the BJP their worth in the Assembly polls. "People of the country will tell the Bharatiya Janata Party their worth on March 11," Scindia added. Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Tuesday took a jibe at Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi's 'earthquake' remark, saying that the nation finally felt the tremors on Monday night. "I was wondering why the earthquake came. When someone see 'SEVA' or any positive virtue in the word 'SCAM' then mother earth would definitely become upset," Prime Minister Modi said while speaking on motion of thanks to President's address in Lok Sabha. Further cornering the Congress Party over the emergency declared during the Indira Gandhi regime, the Prime Minister said: "We remember how democracy was under threat from 1975 to 1977, when opposition leaders were jailed, newspaper freedom curtailed." Emphasising the importance of 'Jan Shakti', the Prime Minister said that it is because of the people's power that a person, born to a poor family became the Prime Minister of India. "Let us understand and appreciate inherent strength of our people and take India to newer heights. Faith in Jan Shakti will give results," he added. Five states in the country are all set to choose their next leader. While Uttar Pradesh Assembly polls for 403 constituencies will be held on 11, 15, 19, 23, 27 February and 4 and 8 March, Uttarakhand will vote on 15 February and Manipur in two phases on 4 and 8 March. Punjab and Goa went to the polls together on 4 February. The votes will be counted on March 11.(ANI)