Jharkhand, Bihar, UP announce ex-gratia for Uri bravehearts

| Updated: Aug 23, 2017 11:20 IST

Patna/Jharkhand/Lucknow [India], Sept. 19 (ANI): In the wake of Uri terror attack that claimed the lives of 18 bravehearts, Jharkhand Chief Minister Raghubar Das on Monday announced Rs. 10 lakh for the families of the slain soldiers from the state. Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar announced Rs. five lakh for the families of soldiers from the state who lost their lives in the attack while Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav announced financial assistance of Rs. 20 lakh each to the families of jawans from the state. The Maharashtra Government announced a financial assistance of Rs. 15 lakh each for families of soldiers from the state who lost their lives in the terror attack. Slain sepoy Javra Munda belonged to Khunti while Sepoy Naiman Kujur was from Chainpur district of Jharkhand. Sepoy Rakesh Singh belonged to Kaimur, Naik S.K. Vidarthi was from Gaya while Havildar Ashok Kumar Singh was from Bhojpur district of Bihar. Sepoy Rajesh Kumar Singh belonged to Jaunpur, Sepoy Harinder Yadav was from Ghazipur, Lance Naik RK Yadav belonged to Ballia while Sepoy Ganesh Shankar was from Ghoorapalli district of Uttar Pradesh. Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh has lashed out at Pakistan branding it as a 'terrorist state', adding that he was disappointed by Islamabad's continued support to terrorism and terrorist groups. In one of the worst attack in recent times, at least 18 soldiers lost their lives and 30 others injured post the terror strike on an army camp close to the headquarters of the 12th Brigade at Uri in Baramulla district. All four terrorists have been killed in what has emerged as worse than the attack on the Pathankot air base earlier in January this year, in which seven army men were killed. Director General of Military Operation (DGMO) Lt. General Ranbir Singh yesterday said that the four terrorists, who attacked the military base in Jammu and Kashmir's Uri, belonged to Pakistan's banned terror outfit Jaish-e-Mohammed (JeM). (ANI)